Moonshine!

Part 1 here

Part 2 here

She’s done! I’m glad she turned out so nicely, because there’s a commission that’s driving me insane right now, and I needed this small victory to keep my confidence and my spirits up.

Here’s the rest of the work that went into her:

She needed new hair. I useDollyhair’s reroot tool, and it’s brilliant. Much easier than the wire and pliers method I’ll be using when I get to my Rapunzel pony- I’ll take pics if I can. I also use hair from Dollyhair; it’s nylon, the same as original My Little Pony hair. In this case, I used Roasted Almond and Buttercreme- yum!

Photobucket

Then she needed a tail, which is far easier than the mane! We just loop the hair over a wire (I use the plastic-coated ones that hold toys into packaging, since every truck my son gets as a million of them) and pull it through from the outside- softening the plastic with heat first helps a lot. I use plastic zip ties to hold the tail in place. See? Easy!

Photobucket

Then we pull the tail back through as far as it will come, and that’s done.

The hair-do leaves something to be desired, though- it still needs washing (to get oils, etc. out), conditioning (to soften and make it easier to comb), and styling. I’m going to give her a simple braid.

Photobucket

…and she’s done!

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

But something was still missing… and then someone reminded me. BLUSH! I used real blush, applied with a damp brush, and then brushed off the excess.

Photobucket

So there you have it, a G4 pony start to finish. It’s a lot of work (especially more complex ones that have larger symbols, sculpting, or full-body repaints!), but it’s fun. I hope you had fun seeing this. Like I said in the bait prep post, not everyone uses the same techniques as I do, but they’re what works for me so far.

Moonshine will be available for purchase in my Etsy shop as soon as I can get some better pictures of her. 🙂

UPDATE: Sold!

Leave a Reply

