Christmas Catch-Up

Well, now that Christmas is over, I can post some of the ponies I made as commissions. Top-secret stuff, you know!

I’ve heard that the Princesses were a big hit when the girls opened them, and that made me very happy. I enjoy making ponies, I get great satisfaction from finishing them, but it’s knowing that they’re loved that’s really the icing on the cupcake for me.

These two were commissioned by a mom for her daughter- the first is based on a character created by her daughter (reference picture is here– check out her other pictures, they’re all adorable!)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The same lady also asked me to do Soarin (from the Friendship is Magic TV show), who is one of her daughter’s favourite characters. I ordered dark blue hair, but it didn’t get here on time, so I ended up sculpting it. I like how it looks, but if anyone else wants one like it, I’ll have to charge more! This picture was before paint touch-ups, so please forgive the patchiness on the hair.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Then there was this D*sney-themed pony (shh… we fear them!) for a friend’s son, who is nuts about… Mockey Mowse and Ploodo… :/ Again, not quite finished- he DID get eye highlights before I let him go.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I still haven’t heard what the reaction was to that one, but I’m pleased with how he turned out. Those symbols were tough!

I can’t remember if I’ve already shared Rudie or not, but she was another Christmas commission. I’m SO pleased with her symbol! Actually, I didn’t want to send her away, and I don’t even like that movie. She was a nice addition to our Christmas display until she had to go to PEI:

Photobucket

So that’s why I didn’t finish a Christmas pony for myself this year. These guys were a lot of work, but definitely worth it. I got to take a few weeks off at Christmas, and now I’m back at it- I’ll post WIP pics of my current project next time. It’s for a swap, but my partner left the options so wide open that even if she sees this (which is HIGHLY doubtful!), she won’t know it’s hers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

